Senate confirms Ekpo Nta as ICPC Chairman

The Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has confirmed the nomination of Hon. Ekpo Una Owo Nta as the substantive chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC). President Goodluck Jonathan had forwarded Hon. Nta’s name to the country’s upper legislative house in July this year as required by Section 3(6) of the ICPC Act 2000.

Until his confirmation by the Senate, Hon. Nta had been the acting chairman of the Commission since November, 2011; having been appointed earlier as an honorable member on the board of the Commission to represent the South-South geo-political zone.

Born on 12th October 1952, Hon. Ekpo Una Owo Nta is a lawyer, political scientist and an administrator who has had a rich and varied experience that has spanned over twenty-five years in Nigeria’s public service. He retired from the Federal Public Service as the Director of Administration and Human Resources Development of the Niger-Delta Development Commission in 2001.

With the Senate’s confirmation, Hon. Nta becomes the third substantive chairman of the Commission since 2001 after Justice Mustapha Akanbi (rtd) who was the pioneer chairman and Justice Emmanuel Ayoola (rtd) respectively. His tenure is for five years.

Hon. Nta who is from Akwa Ibom State is married and has five children.