National Teachers’ Institute Anti-Corruption Unit Gets New Exco

The Director-General, National Teachers’ Institute (NTI) Kaduna, Professor Garba Dahuwa Azare, has blamed corruption for the low level of development being witnessed in Nigeria and called on citizens at every stratum of the nation to shun corruption and imbibe a culture of integrity.

Prof. Azare was speaking at the inauguration of the Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit (ACTU) of the Institute by North-West Zonal Office of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), Kaduna.

He expressed his appreciation to the Commission for the inauguration of the ACTU and also creating awareness on the activities of ICPC to both the staff and students’ of the Institute through the ACTU platform. 

The DG assured the Commission of the Institute’s readiness to partner with it and other relevant stakeholders in the fight against corruption. He encouraged all staff to support the ACTU of NTI by imbibing a culture of personal integrity and honesty in the discharge of their respective duties.

The DG further enjoined ACTU members to rise to the challenge and justify the confidence reposed in them by handling their assignments diligently, assuring that on the part of the management, he would do all that was necessary for the ACTU to succeed.

In his goodwill message, the Zonal Commissioner, ICPC North-West Zonal office Kaduna, Mr. Shehu Yahaya fsi, represented by an Assistant Commissioner, Mr. Mahdi M. Lawal, congratulated the newly inaugurated ACTU members and charged them to ensure that the Institute discharges its statutory functions in a more accountable and transparent manner. He then called on all staff of the Institute to lend their support to the Unit.

In her response, the ACTU Chairperson, Hajiya Bilkisu Yakubu, thanked the management of the Institute and the ICPC for finding them worthy to occupy such position. She promised that members of the Unit will justify the confidence reposed on them.

The new NTI ACTU members are Habiba Tukur Maigari, Hashim Umar, Zainab Ibrahim Jabdo, Adamu Musa. Others are, Muhammed Salisu Abdullahi and Bilkisu Musa Yakubu as Chairman.