Engagement of Students for Zero Tolerance For Corruption: ICPC, Ekiti State Forms 30 Clubs

In its efforts to enlighten Ekiti State’s secondary school students on the need to imbibe the tenets and spirit of integrity and transparency, the Ondo State Office of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) has engaged secondary schools in the State through the launching of 30 Anti-Corruption Clubs.

The inauguration of the clubs in secondary schools from the three senatorial districts of Ekiti State was recently held in the State capital in collaboration with the State’s Ministry of Education, Science, and Technology to impart to the students the principles of integrity and achieve zero tolerance for corruption and other social vices in the schools.

In his keynote address, the ICPC Ondo State Resident Anti-Corruption Commissioner (RACC), Mr. Kayode Kupolati, commended the zeal and bold steps taken by the Ekiti State government to collaborate with ICPC in inaugurating the anti-corruption clubs, stressing that it was a practical testimony of the State’s commitment and dedication to the fight against corruption.

He said, “The overall objective of forming Anti-Corruption Clubs among secondary school students is to inculcate positive values in them at their formative age (catch them young). It is expected that as they grow up and assume positions of responsibility, they would have imbibed zero tolerance for corruption and other social vices.”

Earlier in her welcome address, the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Ekiti State, Dr. Kofoworola Olabimpe Aderiye, acknowledged that corruption in Nigeria had undermined our democratic institutions, affected economic development and equally contributed to the failure of government to properly deliver dividends of democracy to the citizens.

The Commissioner further maintained that the formation of the clubs would encourage students to follow the path of integrity and inculcate positive values in them from their formative years.

In their separate remarks, the Ekiti State Director of NOA, Mr. Adeyemi Akinola; the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Dr Folakemi Olomojobi, represented by the Deputy Director of Schools, Mr. Sanmi Bowale; the Tutor-General, Ekiti South Senatorial District, Mrs. Adewumi Omowunmi; and the Tutor-General, Ekiti North Senatorial District, Mrs. Ogunkorede Adesola, all lauded ICPC’s efforts and appealed that robust plans be made to ensure that the inaugurated clubs are sustained.